Some tools you may find useful

A couple of days ago I let you know that Picnik, the online photo-editing tool I demonstrated in class, was being folded into Google Plus. If you’re like me, you want nothing to do with Google Plus. So let me introduce you to Pixlr, a very sophisticated free online photo editor that is light-years ahead of Picnik. It makes me think of Photoshop Elements in its abundance of tools and sophistication. I’m adding Pixlr to our list of tools.

Also, if you’re planning to use your iPhone or iPod touch as your still and video camera this semester, you should check out Camera Plus Pro, which only costs $1.99. It’s better than Apple’s built-in camera app. One great thing about Camera Plus Pro is that you can do basic editing of your image on the spot without having to wait until you transfer it to your computer. This is valuable if you are covering a live event and sending photos to Twitter or Facebook.

Here are links to some of the Twitter resources we’ll be talking about today:

About Dan Kennedy

I am an associate professor of journalism at Northeastern University, and I'm using WordPress.com for my blog, Media Nation, as well as class websites.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

